Skip to main content Skip to navigation

People

Staff

Peter Smytheman, Research Assistant

Phone: 509-293-8757
Email: peter_smytheman@wsu.edu

Chris Sater, Research Assistant

Phone:  509-293-8754
Email:  csater@wsu.edu

Postdocs

Dylan Beal, PhD

Email: dylan.beal@wsu.edu

Current Students

Dowen JocsonPhD Student (2022)

Emaildowen.jocson@wsu.edu

Rob Czokajlo, MS Student 

Email: robert.czokajlo@wsu.edu

Former Staff

David Enicks
(2019-2020)

Bruce Greenfield
(Retired 2019)

Molly Darr (2018-2019)

Current position:
Postdoctoral Associate
Forest Health and Invasive Species
Clemson University

Email: mndarr@clemson.edu

https://www.clemson.edu/cafls/faculty_staff/profiles/mndarr

Matt Giannandrea
(2015-2017)

Karen Blaedow
(2013-2014)

Former Post-Docs

Kacie Athey (2019-2020)

Current position:
Assistant Professor
University of Illinois, Crop Sciences

Email: kathey@illinois.edu

https://cropsciences.illinois.edu/people/profile/kathey

Louis Nottingham (2016 – 2019)

Current position:
Research Assistant Professor
Department of Entomology
Washington State University

Email: louis.nottingham@wsu.edu

http://tfrec.cahnrs.wsu.edu/nottingham/

Andrea Bixby-Brosi (2014-2017)

Email: abixby.brosi@gmail.com

https://www.facebook.com/mommacrowfarm/

Former Students

Jim Hepler

Education:
PhD, 2021, Entomology

Dissertation Title:
Landscape Ecology and Management of the Brown Marmorated Stink Bug in the Pacific Northwest

Current Position:
USDA-ARS
Appalachian Fruit Research Station
Kearneysville, WV

Email: james.hepler@wsu.edu

Adrian Marshall

Education: PhD, 2020, Entomology

Dissertation Title: Netting Applications for Insect Management in Apple Orchards

Current Position:
Post-Doc, Tobin Northfield Lab
WSU-TFREC
Wenatchee, WA

Email: atmarshall@wsu.edu

Josh Milnes

Education: MS, 2019, Entomology

Thesis Title: Ecology of the Asian Egg Parasitod Trissolcus Japonicus (Hymenoptera: Scelionidae) and Impact on Eastern Washington Pentatomids Under Field Conditions

Current Position:
Pest Biologist II
WA State Dept. of Ag – Plant Protection Division
Yakima, WA

Email: jmilnes@agr.wa.gov
Phone: 509-220-1134

Alix Whitener

Education: PhD, 2018, Entomology

Dissertation Title: Behavior and integrated pest management of Drosophila suzukii (Diptera: Drosophilidae) in Washington state sweet cherry

Current Position:
FMC Technical Services Manager
Wenatchee, WA

Email: whitener.alix@gmail.com

Brittany Buchanan

Education: MS in Agriculture, 2017

Current Position:
AgroFresh
Philadelphia, PA

Email: brittanyadell@gmail.com

Rebecca Schmidt-Jeffris

Education: PhD, 2015, Entomology

Dissertation Title: Phytoseiids as Biological Control Agents of Phytophagous Mites in Washington Apple Orchards

Current Position:
Research Entomologist, Tree Fruit Biological Control
USDA-ARS, Wapato, WA

Email: rebecca.schmidt@usda.gov
Phone: 509-454-6556

Luis Martinez Rocha

Education: MS, 2013, Entomology

Thesis Title: Effects of Pesticides and three Sulfur-Based Products on Integrated Mite Management in Washington State

Lessando Gontijo

Education: PhD, 2011, Entomology

Dissertation Title: Integrated Biological Control of Woolly Apple Aphid in Washington State

Current Position:
Professor of Entomology
Universidade Federal de Viçosa
Brazil

Dario Fernandez

Education: MS, 2000, Entomology

Thesis Title: Effect of seasonal mineral oil applications on the pest and natural enemy complex of apples (Malus domestica Borkhausen) and oviposition deterrence of white apple leafhopper (Typhlocyba pomaria McAtee) in laboratory bioassays

Current Position:
INTA EEA Alto Valle
Rio Negro, Argentina

E-mail: dfernandez@correo.inta.gov.ar

Michael Reding

Education: PhD, 2000, Entomology

Dissertation Title: Biology, monitoring, and management of Campylomma verbasci (Meyer) (Hemiptera: Miridae) in Washington apple orchards

Current Position:
Research Entomologist
USDA-ARS
Wooster, OH

Phone: 330-263-3629
E-mail: reding.2@osu.edu