Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Staff and Students

Staff

peter smytheman  

Peter Smytheman, Research Assistant

Phone: 509-293-8757

Email: peter_smytheman@wsu.edu

 

Chris Sater, Research Assistant

Phone:  509-293-8754

Email:  csater@wsu.edu

 
David Enicks, Research Assistant

Phone:  509-293-8757

Email:  david.enicks@wsu.edu

Post Docs

 

Kacie AtheyPost-Doctoral Research Associate (2019 – present)

Email: kacie.athey@wsu.edu

Current Students

adrian marshall  

Adrian Marshall, PhD Student (2020)

Phone: 509-293-8756

Email: atmarshall@wsu.edu

jim hepler  

James Hepler, PhD Student (2021)

Phone: 509-293-8756

Email: james.hepler@wsu.edu

 

Dowen JocsonPhD Student (2022)

Emaildowen.jocson@wsu.edu

Former Staff

bruce greenfield Bruce Greenfield

Retired 2019

molly darr Molly Darr (2018-2019)

Current position:
Postdoctoral Associate
Forest Health and Invasive Species
Clemson University

Email: mndarr@clemson.edu

Web: https://www.clemson.edu/cafls/faculty_staff/profiles/mndarr

Matt Giannandrea (2015-2017)

Karen Blaedow (2013-2014)

Former Post-Docs

louis nottingham Louis Nottingham (2016 – 2019)

Current position:
Research Assistant Professor
Department of Entomology
Washington State University

Email: louis.nottingham@wsu.edu

andrea bixby-brosi Andrea Bixby-Brosi (2014-2017)

Current position:
Momma Crow Farm
Rock Island, WA

Email: abixby.brosi@gmail.com

Web: https://www.facebook.com/mommacrowfarm/

Former Students

josh milnes Josh Milnes

Education: MS, 2019, Entomology, Washington State University

Thesis Title: Ecology of the Asian Egg Parasitod Trissolcus Japonicus (Hymenoptera: Scelionidae) and Impact on Eastern Washington Pentatomids Under Field Conditions

Current Position:
Program Coordinator
Yakima Count Pest Board

Email: Joshua.Milnes@co.yakima.wa.us
Phone: 509-574-1583

alix whitener Alix Whitener

Education: PhD, 2018, Entomology, Washington State University

Thesis Title: Behavior and integrated pest management of Drosophila suzukii (Diptera: Drosophilidae) in Washington state sweet cherry

Current Position:
FMC Technical Services Manager
Wenatchee, WA

Email: whitener.alix@gmail.com

brittany buchanan Brittany Buchanan

Education: MS in Agriculture, 2017, Washington State Univeristy

Current Position:
AgroFresh
Philadelphia, PA

Email: brittanyadell@gmail.com

rebecca schmidt Rebecca Schmidt-Jeffris

Education: PhD, 2015, Entomology, Washington State University

Thesis Title: Phytoseiids as Biological Control Agents of Phytophagous Mites in Washington Apple Orchards

Current Position:
Research Entomologist, Tree Fruit Biological Control
USDA-ARS, Wapato, WA

Email: rebecca.schmidt@usda.gov
Phone: 509-454-6556

luis rocha Luis Martinez Rocha

Education: MS, 2013, Entomology Washington State University

Thesis Title: Effects of Pesticides and three Sulfur-Based Products on Integrated Mite Management in Washington State

 

lessando gontijo Lessando Gontijo

Education: PhD, 2011, Entomology, Washington State University

Thesis Title: Integrated Biological Control of Woolly Apple Aphid in Washington State

Current Position:
Professor of Entomology
Universidade Federal de Viçosa
Brazil

dario fernandez Dario Fernandez

Education: Agronomic Engineer, Un Nac Comahue;
MS, 2000, Entomology, Washington State University

Thesis Title: Effect of seasonal mineral oil applications on the pest and natural enemy complex of apples (Malus domestica Borkhausen) and oviposition deterrence of white apple leafhopper (Typhlocyba pomaria McAtee) in laboratory bioassays

Current Position:
INTA EEA Alto Valle
Rio Negro, Argentina

E-mail: dfernandez@correo.inta.gov.ar

michael reding Michael Reding

Education: PhD, 2000, Entomology, Washington State University

Thesis Title: Biology, monitoring, and management of Campylomma verbasci (Meyer) (Hemiptera: Miridae) in Washington apple orchards

Current Position:
Research Entomologist
USDA-ARS
Wooster, Ohio
Phone: 330-263-3629
E-mail: reding.2@osu.edu